Follow

Client Admin Center - Users - Add Users, Roles, Permissions, and Permission Presets

Client Admin Center - Users - Add Users, Roles, Permissions, and Permission Presets

In this article:

About Adding Users to Lasso

The Users tab in the Client Admin Center allows Administrators to add and manage Lasso users, including roles, permissions, and contact information. Once users have been added to the system, they need to be given specific roles and permissions.

The Users menu includes:

  • Manage Users - Add users, either individually or via import. Add/update email, assign/update roles and permissions, hide/unhide sales managers/reps from the Sales Center home page, and disable logins. Updates can be done on an individual basis only.
  • Manage Permissions - Assign roles and permissions via permission presets as well as update email addresses. Ability to update multiple users at one time.
  • Manage Roles - View the list of users and associated roles and projects, update email addresses and phone numbers, disable/enable a role, and hide/unhide a user from the Sales Center home page. Ability to update multiple users at one time.
  • Manage Permission Presets - Create sets of permissions that pertain to specific roles. Creating Permission Presets prior to assigning users their roles makes the task quick and easy, and allows for the assignment of a particular role or combination of roles to multiple users on multiple projects at the same time.

To add users, roles, and permissions:

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click on the Users tab.

2 - Select Manage Users to add the users to the system.

3 - Select Manager Users or Manage Permissions to assign users their roles and permissions.

mageusersmain.jpg

Add User

There are two ways to add users to Lasso: 1) one user at a time manually; and 2) multiple users all at one time via import. The following provides instruction on how to add an individual user manually.

To view an instructional video, click the PLAY button below:

 

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Users.

mageusers1a.jpg

2 - Click on Add User.

adduser1.jpg

3 - Complete First Name, Last Name, Username, Password, and Email in the spaces provided, and Save.

Warning: The Username CANNOT be changed after it has been created.

useradd.jpg

Import Users

The following provides instruction on how to add multiple users all at one time via import.

To view an instructional video, click the PLAY button below: 

 

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Users.

mageusers1a.jpg

2 - Click Import Users.

importusers.jpg

- Click Download Import Template.

csvupload.jpg

4 - You'll get a dialogue box asking you to open the file in Microsoft Excel CSV file format. Click OK to open up the template.

ok.jpg

5 - Complete the template with the First Name, Last Name, Username, Password, and Email.

template.jpg

6 - Save the template as a CSV file to your computer and make a note of its saved location. (It must be saved as a CSV file.)
7 - Click the box with the 3 dots beside Select a csv file to upload, find your file, and select it.

8 - Click on Import to import your users into the database.

fakepath.jpg 

About Assigning Roles and Permissions

Once you've added the users, your next step is to assign roles and permissions. You can assign roles and permissions for multiple users at one time using Permission Presets or individually select permissions for a specific user. If you're going to assign roles and permissions for multiple users all at one time, you must create Permission Presets prior  to assigning roles.

To view an instructional video, click the PLAY button below:

 

Assign Roles and Permissions Using Permission Presets

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Permissions.

mageusers2a.jpg

The Manage Permissions page lists all the users, projects, and permission presets in your  database. You can assign multiple users to multiple projects at one time but with only one permission preset at a time. For example, as long as a group of sales reps have the same permissions, you can assign them all at one time to multiple projects with one sales rep permission preset.

2 - Select the users to whom you are assigning a specific role.
3 - Select the project(s).
4 - Select the Permission Preset. Only one permission preset can be selected per user.
5 - Click Apply Selected in the bottom right corner, and Save.

manageusers12-1.jpg

6 - The Save Changes? page that pops up has three sections: Permissions, Role Options, and Email authorization. Select as appropriate and Save.

  • Permissions:
    • Add to current Permissions – This is the default. Selecting this option will add the Permissions that were included in the selected Permissions Preset for each selected User.
    • Overwrite current Permissions – Selecting this option will REMOVE the selected Users’ current Permissions and add the Permissions that were included in the selected Permissions Preset.
  • Role Options – Allow Roles to be created is checked by default. This adds new roles for selected users if they do not already have the roles that are included in the selected permission presets.
  • Email authorization – Automatically authorize email is checked by default. All email addresses entered for sales reps into Lasso must be authorized by the system before use.

savechanges.jpg

Assign Roles and Permissions Without Using Permission Presets

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Users.

mageusers1a.jpg

2 - Double-click on the user.

3 - Click Add Role.

4 - Select the Role Type.

Note: If you select Sales Rep or Sales Manager, a Hide field will appear. If you do not want the user to be listed on the Sales Center Home Page, check the Hide box.

5 - Select the Project.

6 - Select the Permissions that the user should have, and Save.

addrole.jpg

About Permission Presets

The Manage Permission Presets menu item under Users in the Client Admin Center allows Administrators to define and save specific roles and permissions that can be applied to an individual user or multiple users all at one time. This function will ensure that users are assigned the appropriate permissions with consistency.

To manage Permission Presets:

In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Permission Presets.

mageusers4a.jpg

Add Permission Preset

If you prefer to view the instructional video, click PLAY below:

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Permission Presets.

mageusers4a.jpg

2 - Click Add Preset and enter a name for the permission preset in the space provided.

3 - You will notice the role types (Sales, Project Administration, Inventory, and Client Administration) in tabs above the list of permissions on the right-hand side. You can define a single role that contains permissions from all role types. Select the first role type for which you’d like to set permissions.

4 - Check the boxes beside the permissions you want the role to have. Permissions that are unchecked will be in red font.

5 - If you want to include permissions from another role type, move to the appropriate tab, and check the boxes. Do this for as many role types and permissions as you want the permission preset to contain, and Save.

presets.jpg

Update/Edit Permission Preset

If you prefer to watch the instructional video, click PLAY below:

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Permission Presets.

mageusers4a.jpg

2 - Click on the name of the Preset to bring up its Permissions. Permissions that are unchecked will be in red font.
3 - Check and uncheck boxes beside permissions under each role type as required, and Save.

presetsupdate.jpg

Delete Permission Preset

If you prefer to watch the instructional video, click PLAY below:

1 - In the Client Admin Center, click Users and select Manage Permission Presets.

mageusers4a.jpg

2 - Click on the name of the Preset.
3 - Click Delete Preset.

Note: You will be removing the preset only, not the permissions assigned to users who have already been given that preset.

deletepreset.jpg

4 - You will be asked if you are sure you want to delete the selected item(s). Click Yes.